Contemplation


Contemplation
Originally uploaded by Through the Veil

In life, the ebbs and flows are expected to come and go. Expectations of continual heightened spiritual awareness without dips into stagnation are not the norm.

Having experienced a season of elevated studies with goals set by academia I am now experiencing an interesting and troubling phenomenon — no direction.

While I have no real concern for the vocational calling God has for me, I do have concerns:

–How do I move from the years of mostly scholarly study back into a more devotional study?

–How do I move the Bible back into a perspective of God speaking to me instead of classroom textbook?

–What does a diploma on the wall really represent if I sense the distance between God and myself has increased instead of decreased?

–Will I ever get the excitement and energy back from when I first heard God’s vocational (1997) and salvation (1991) calls in my life?

These are the questions that haunt me.

Give ear to my words, O LORD, Consider my groaning. Heed the sound of my cry for help, my King and my God, For to You I pray.
–Psalms 5:1-2

3 thoughts on “Contemplation

  1. I hear what you’re saying, Scott. I seems in seminary you get the theology right… after that it needs to seep into the very heart of your being… into your spirit.
    A real KNOWING in your heart as well as your head.
    I pray that God will permeate these truths into your WHOLE being!! Blessings to you as you seek after Him!!

Leave a Reply

